Home » Sports Channel » Track & Field » General » 2007 Track and Field and Cross Country Rules Interpretations

2007 Track and Field and Cross Country Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 7: Two competitors from School A are competing for the conference title in the 3200-meter run. Leading the field, two Team A teammates approach the finish line and grasp hands and cross the line together. The runners are disqualified by the meet referee. RULING: Correct procedure. COMMENT: Although Rule 4-5-8 is addressing circumstances in which assistance could be provided to a runner consequently resulting in a disqualification, in the situation of grasping hands a definite disqualification results. It is at best difficult to determine assistance under this set of circumstances, but it is likely and is also possibly unsporting behavior. The application of this rule is to result in an immediate disqualification for grasping hands while crossing the finish line. (4-5-8)

SITUATION 8: School A is hosting an invitational meet. The event judge is inspecting the shot put area and sees that the longer international stopboard is being used, which extends beyond the 34.92-degree sector lines. Competitors in the event are instructed that touching any part of the inner edge of the stopboard would not be a foul. Touching the top or ends outside the circle would be a foul. RULING: Correct procedure. COMMENT: Rule 6-5-4 Note does permit the use of the longer stopboard as schools are transitioning to the new sector. (6-5-4)

SITUATION 9: During the shot put competition in which the international, longer stopboard is still in use, competitor S a) steps on top of the middle of the stopboard, b) contacts the outside edge of the stopboard, c) touches the inner edge of the stopboard that extends beyond the width of the throwing sector. RULING: In a) and b), a foul occurs. In c), the competitor did not foul. COMMENT: It has been and continues to be a foul any time a competitor steps on the top of the stopboard or touches the outside end of the stopboard that is outside of the circle. It is not a foul to make contact with the inner edge of the stopboard that coincides with the inside edge of the circle. (6-5-4)

SITUATION 10: The head field referee is checking the pole vault venue. He notices that a 2-centimeter wide, white line is not extending from the zero point 10 feet to each side of the landing mat. He instructs host management to place the line in this location. RULING: Incorrect procedure. COMMENT: The white line marking the placement of the landing pad is not a rule requirement but is permissible at the discretion of the host school to be placed in this location. Host management should not have to place this line for competition to be conducted. (7-5-12)

SITUATION 11: There is a tie for first place at the conference cross country meet. Each of the two teams involved have five runners. To break the tie the score of the first four runners of each team are totaled to break the tie. RULING: Correct procedure. COMMENT: The teams are tied due to the place finish of the five runners. To break the tie, go to the total of the team scorers by using only the first four runners. The scores are based on the full field of runners and the tie is broken based on these same scores. (9-2-5)

Source: National Federation of High School Athletic Associations. © NFHS